Speak with us:+9779861218997

Gems Group Services

Study in Malta

Malta is a Southern European island nation in the Mediterranean, off the coast of Sicily (Italy) and close to Tunisia and Libya. The small country is home to a population of roughly 440,000 people.

Malta belonged to the British Empire from 1814 from 1964. During that time, the British imposed the use of English as an official language. And it still is, alongside Maltese: Roughly 90% of the population speak English, and Malta is a popular destination for students seeking English language courses.

The two major universities in Malta are The University of Malta and the Malta College of Arts, Science and Technology (MCAST). Both offer a range of Bachelor and Master programmes in English.

  • Middlesex University also operates a branch campus on Malta (Middlesex University Malta), where they offer a range of degree programmes focusing on IT / Computer Science as well as International Business.
  • Name: Republic of Malta (Repubblika ta’ Malta)
  • Population: 412,966 estimate 2010
  • Flag: White and red background, with the George Cross in the upper left corner of the white part.
  • Capital City:  Valletta
  • Largest city: Birkikara, with a population of 26,000
  • Coastline: 140 m
  • Highest point: Ta’ Dmejrek 253m (close to Dingli)
  • Official Languages: Maltese and English
  • Ethnic groups: Maltese 95.3%, British 1.6%, Other 3.1%
  • Demonym:  Maltese
  • Member of the EU: from 1st May 2004
  • Time Zone: CET (UTC+1)
  • Drive: on the left
  • Calling code: + 356
  • Currency: Euro(€)
  • GDP (PPP) 2010 estimate: Total €6.95 billion
  • GDP (PPP) 2010 estimate: Per capita €16,564
  • Government: Parliamentary Republic, President: George Abela, Prime Minister: Lawrence Gonzi
  • Independence: from the United Kingdom 21 September 1964
  • Coat of Arms: Shows the flag of Malta in the form of a shield, on the top of which is a fortification with five turrets, representing all the fortifications of the island. There are two branches around the shield, and olive and a palm tree, which symbolize peace.

Major cities in Malta

This is a list of cities in Malta. By the usual standards that most other countries use when designating a city, Malta’s cities would be too small to be considered such, and in fact Malta is sometimes regarded as a single city-state. Malta’s cities are regarded as such because they received the designation of “città” at some point during their history. In Maltese law, no distinction is made between cities, towns, and villages; and city status is purely honorary. Malta is divided into 68 local councils. The local councils which have city status all feature a mural crown on the crest of their coat of arms.

The largest cities in Malta, ranked by population

Birkirkara, Malta 21,676
Qormi, Malta 18,230
Mosta, Malta 17,789
Żabbar, Malta 15,030
Valletta, Malta 6,794


GEMS Group Services